Posted by: Checkers | February 17, 2008

Beach Blanket Deep Freeze

Yesterday afternoon, my owner says to me, “Checkers, you wanna go to the beach today?”

I thought, “Sure! What’s a beach?”

He must have read my mind, because he added, “You know, that place with sand and water we went to last summer.”

I remembered, “Oh, yeah, that place where I found the dead fish and wasn’t allowed to keep it. Ok, let’s go!”

My owner said I could ride shotgun. I thought, “What? Aren’t we going to ride in the car?!” I guess he decided the car was better and he put me in the front seat. That was fun.

carride.jpg

The beach is about 10 minutes from our house, something like 526 miles away. We got there and this is what we saw:

at-the-beach.jpg

Wow, was it ever cold! Couldn’t even see sand-just snow, driftwood and ice. My owner said this is Lake Erie. Biggest frozen puddle ever! We didn’t stay too long.

Before we left, my owner tied me up to a bench to take some pictures of me with the lake in the background.

tiedup.jpg

I wasn’t too crazy about this, but I played along. I thought, “Maybe if I give him a really good shot, we can wrap this up and get back in the warm car.” I pulled off one of my most unusual tongue tricks:

tongueflapping.jpg

I just open my mouth while shaking and this happens. Pretty neat, huh? We were on our way home in no time.

I hope everyone is having a nice weekend!

Responses

  1. great use of corgi math! and a truly inspired tongue shot.

    it looks so very cold!

  2. Last photo is nice 🙂

  3. Dude, you gotta long tongue, Checkers! Handy too, if it gets you outta scrapes like that.

    Thanks for the comment at About the A.C.. I don’t think you have anything to fear from The Aged. Even as a youth he was an unusually gentle fellow. The Aged is very much in agreement with you about Maine Coons. He briefly lived with an evil M.C. that delighted in tormenting him. We didn’t stay in that place long.

  4. PS Don’t you like to play in the snow?

  5. Sounds fun & cold. Our recent trip to the beach was a lot warmer.

  6. I love to play in the snow and the cold doesn’t bother me much. I think I wanted to get out of there because I was afraid a whale might jump through the ice and gobble me up! You never know…

  7. eeek! . . .like Jonah! That would be bad.

  8. The beach and snow..not a concept we are used to in California.

    Next thing you know your owner will be taking you to the ice skating rink. 🙂

    I love that tongue trick. It makes you look so cute.

  9. Your antics never fail to amuse me Checkers. Thanks for the very interesting shot of Lake Erie.

  10. Checkers, you’re so cute! I miss my doggie!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

